top of page

BeautyFix May 2017 Subscription Box Review


It's that time of month again! Subscription box time. If you're obsessed with samples and receiving products like I am, you'll understand why I love receiving these boxes in the mail (or any box/package for that matter- it makes my entire day better).

If you're not sure what BeautyFix is, BeautyFix is a monthly subscription service that delivers name-brand skincare, haircare, and makeup right to your front door. It is much more heavy-handed on the skincare and haircare, which makes this the perfect box for all of my skincare junkies out there.The subscription costs $24.95 per month (free shipping!) and claims to always have a retail value of over $100

Keep reading to see what I've received if you're interested!

(Apologies in advance because I threw away the card with the product information! Ugh.)

This month's theme is Kiss of Sun, which seems appropriate for the summertime. Here's what I received in my box this month:

SmartFX SmartLash Advanced Eyelash Enhancer: 0.16 fl oz/ 4.8 ml: full size! Value $49.95

NuFace Prep-N-Glow Cloth: 1 Dual-sided Cloth

Vita Liberata Ten Minute Tan: 0.68 fl oz/ 20 ml

AHAVA Mineral Hand Cream Sea-Kissed: 1.3 fl oz/ 40 ml *forgot to picture this one, I'm sorry!*

Let's start with the product I was most excited about.

SmartFX SmartLash Advanced Eyelash Enhancer: 0.16 fl oz/ 4.8 ml: full size! Value $49.95

I've always wanted to try eyelash enhancing products. I've used pure pastor oil on and off for the past few years, but I've always wanted to get my hands on an actual eyelash serum (still lusting after Latisse... *sigh*). When I saw this serum in my box, my heart did a little skip of joy. Here's the product claim before I give my mini-review:

"SmartFX Smartlash Advanced harnesses a unique combination of multiple peptides, vitamins and conditioning agents with its new Widelash™ Technology formulation. Designed to help enhance both lashes and brows, the easy-to-apply formula promotes healthy hair growth for a fuller, thicker appearance. Unlike similar products on the market, Smartlash does not contain any hormones, meaning no unwanted side effects will occur. Ophthalmologist- and dermatologist-tested and proven safe enough for sensitive eyes and contact wearers."

I've been using this product for less than a week, so I haven't seen any lash growth. I can say that this hasn't burned my eyes, and is very easy to apply. The directions say to apply it morning and night, but I just apply it at night to save some time and preserve some product. I'm hoping to see some growth within the next month or so.

I'm up to my eyeballs in eye cream from subscription boxes (no pun intended), so I haven't been able to try this out. I may give this one away, I'm not too sure yet. It comes with a foil seal, so that's wonderful to know if you're planning on giving it away or swapping it! Here's the product claim:

"After years of day-to-day elements wreaking havoc on your fragile eye area, its time to nourish and restore with the Replenix All-trans-Retinol Enriched Eye Repair cream. Specially formulated with micro-circulation to zero in on targeted areas and address your visible aging concerns without damaging or irritating the skin, each drop deeply moisturizes your skin with a potent blend of anti-aging ingredients. A fast-acting, masterful mix of all-trans-retinol and hyaluronic acid works to fill in line depth, diminish wrinkles and increase your skin's firmness and elasticity while reinforcing its natural hydration through a protective barrier. Deeply penetrating the skin is the power quad of green tea, vitamins C and E, and emblica. These natural antioxidants ensure that your skin will be free from irritation, inflammation and protected from free radicals while ceramide, peptide complex and niacinamide work in synergy to even skin tone, reduce appearance of under-eye bags and dark circles, and tighten the skin to a more youthful-looking complexion. Rich in hydration and offering a one-of-a-kind chemistry of anti-aging complex, this treatment is bound to become your new daily (and lifelong) essential."

Fancy, huh? Since the full sized price 0.5 oz container of this is $85, it better do everything it says it will! Whether I give this away or keep it, I look forward to seeing/hearing about the product performance.

Before receiving the box, I had seen a short clip of this on Dermstore's Instagram. Little did I know that I'd be receiving the product that they were talking about!

I haven't used this wash cloth yet because I have a few similar items to get through. I'm looking forward to using this though, because I love a good body exfoliant Whether it's gloves, a scrub, or a wash cloth, I adore anything that will keep my body bright and smooth. The material is rough and will definitely apply good exfoliation, but I wouldn't scrub too hard as you might damage your skin! Here is the product claim:

"Your Stretch Wash Cloth from Daily Concepts nourishes skin to make it feel luxurious. Made from stretchable cotton, this wash cloth features nylon loops that gently exfoliate to remove dead skin cells. Plus, it comes with a handy suction cup for easy shower storage, and a label indicator that fades when the product needs to be replaced."

Can't wait to use this! It seems perfect for getting those had to reach area on your back.

NuFace Prep-N-Glow Cloth: 1 Dual-sided Cloth

I'm not the biggest fan of makeup wipes when removing makeup, but if I'm in a pinch or traveling and don't have anything, it's nice to have these on hand. I have heard of the NuFace brand from Birchbox and it receives good reviews, so this will be nice to throw in my purse in case of emergency. If not, it'll go in my 'give away' pile. Here is the product claim:

"NuFACE Prep-N-Glow cloths make it easy to cleanse, exfoliate and hydrate all in one step. Remove makeup and impurities on the go with these soft cotton lace cloths hydrated with hyaluronic acid and infused with luxury anti-aging ingredients. The result is a gentle and easy process to give you radiant, fresh-looking skin with restored antioxidants and minerals. It's also perfect as a base to smooth the skin and moisturize for makeup application afterwards."

Seems promising!

Vita Liberata Ten Minute Tan: 0.68 fl oz/ 20 ml

This product seems very fitting to the theme, but unfortunately, I have absolutely no need of it. It's definitely something I will give away. On the bright side, it's received great reviews! Here is the product claim:

"Achieve the ultimate glow with Ten Minute Tan made by Vita Liberata, designed for all skin types. Applied just 10 minutes before showering, the tanner delivers a natural, golden tan within four to six hours. Using a peptide complex to plump and condition skin, reduce fine lines and stimulate collagen production, this self tanner is vegan, sulfate-free, natural, certified cruelty-free, fragrance-free and organic."

Sounds like a wonderful product! I'm sure it will get a lot of love from somebody else.

I'm glad that they included a sunscreen in this month's box (I would be surprised if they didn't)! Unfortunately, this is another product I'll have to give away. This "natural-tinted" sunscreen is tints the wrong color for me. It's about 10 shades too light and, obviously, is not for me. *Sigh*. I've heard that BeautyFix is notorious for sending out complexion products in the same shade, so this doesn't surprise me much. Here is the product claim for this product:

"CoTZ FACE Natural Tint SPF 40 (formerly Face Natural Skin Tone SPF 40) is a formula that offers broad-spectrum protection from the sun's harmful UVA/UVB rays. Micronized titanium dioxide and zinc oxide provide a silky texture that dries clear and leaves a matte finish. Oil- and fragrance-free. Lightly tinted."

On the site, it also says that it is a mineral-based sun protector for all skin tones. *cue the rolling of eyes*. Okay, sure. Whatever you say, Cotz. Whatever you say.

I was pleasantly surprised to see this product in my box this month. I have heard a lot about Tula but have not tried out their products. I love good moisturizers, so I have high hopes for this one! Here's the product claim:

"Tula Skincare Hydrating Day and Night Cream features a patented, clinically proven probiotic complex to deliver deep hydration and soothe dull skin. Combined with vitamin E and retinol, this multitasking powerhouse promotes skin renewal and collagen synthesis while nourishing the skin's microbiological layer with protective probiotics, instantly revealing an even, glowing complexion and improving the signs of aging over time."

I'm looking forward to trying this. The fact that it has retinol in it makes it all the more appealing! I haven't tested out the formula, as it has a foil seal and I'm waiting to use my other products before I test out this one. I'll probably post a mini review on my Instagram once I try it!

Ah, foundation primers. Thanks to subscription boxes, I never have to buy another foundation primer again. I gladly welcome primers, but this one is an exception. I may have to give this one away until I can work through my stash. I appreciate it in my box though, because I love me a good silicone primer. Here is the product claim:

"Marina Kadar Cosmetics Runway Ready provides a semi-matte, silky smooth finish that keeps your makeup put all day long. Formulated with silicones, this makeup primer minimizes the appearance of fine lines and pores for a more youthful complexion. It's completely colorless and suitable for all skin tones."

If you guys have received this in your box this month, let me know how this preforms!

AHAVA Mineral Hand Cream Sea-Kissed: 1.3 fl oz/ 40 ml *forgot to picture this one, I'm sorry!*

I didn't even realize that I hadn't included this in my pictures until I was typing the list of products. Oops! Sorry, guys! Hopefully this nice stock picture will suffice.

I'll always take hand creams in my boxes. The more, the merrier. I work with children (young children. Think 2 weeks-12 months + 1-2 years) so I am constantly washing my hands with the harsh foaming soap provided at work. Because of that, my hands are always dry and cracking. I'm always looking for creams to help with that. Here is the product claim before I post my mini review:

"AHAVA Mineral Hand Cream is the perfect nourishment for dry and rough skin, blending Dead Sea minerals with a tranquil sea-kissed fragrance to provide relief to dehydrated hands. This deeply moisturizing hand cream features allantoin, which repairs dry and cracked skin and also helps heal blemishes. The formula is enriched by witch hazel extract, which not only sanitizes hands, but also smooths skin, delivering a revitalizing feel."

This product definitely moisturized my hands and left them feeling soft. My only gripe with it is that the scent is fairly strong (reminds me of a Bath + Body Works scent, just can't remember the name) and it leaves my hands slightly greasy. I wouldn't necessarily use this at work, but it's perfect to keep in my bag during the day and on my bedside table.

Final Thoughts: Unfortunately, this box was a dud for me. As was April's box, and March's box. I've given away the majority of the items that I've received in the box in the past couple of months, and if I'm already at that point and it's been three months, the sub just isn't worth it to me. Because of that, I've since canceled my subscription. I love Dermstore and its CS, but I'll probably only resub if the boxes contain products that I've been dying to try.

Tell me if you guys want to see any new boxes, as I have room because I've canceled BeautyFix! I'd love to hear suggestions.

Note: I mentioned that I would write a review of the Juice Beauty Green Apple Moisturizer that I received in last month's BeautyFix. It broke me out every time I tired it, so I had to give it away. Had such high hopes for it too! :(

bottom of page