top of page

Beauty Fix April 2017 Subscription Box Review


I have recently become obsessed with subscription services. Who doesn't love coming home to a package? Who doesn't love online shopping? Well, in my eyes, subscription services combine my love of both and deliver it in a prettily packaged box filled with goodies!

Beauty Fix is a monthly subscription service that delivers name-brand skincare, haircare, and makeup right to your front door. It is much more heavy-handed on the skincare and haircare, which makes this the perfect box for all of my skincare junkies out there.

The subscription costs $24.95 per month (free shipping!) and claims to always have a retail value of over $100.

Okay...enough rambling. On to what I received in my box!

This is my second month subbing to Beauty Fix and I opted to keep this month a surprise (well, it was mainly my husband reminding my not to look at the spoilers)! The theme this month is Down To Earth, and the box featured natural beauty products. Here are the items included in this month's Beauty Fix box:

Juice Beauty Green Apple Age Defy Moisturizer: 2 fl oz/ 60 ml: full size! Value: $48.00

Honest Beauty Magic Balm: 0.17 oz/ 5 g: full size! Value: $18.00

Luzern Laboratories Urban Protect Detox Masque & Urban Protect Daily Moisturizer: 0.135 fl oz/ 4 ml & 0.34 fl oz/ 10 ml (couldn't find the link!)

100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Oil Anti-Aging Lipstick in Poppy: 0.15 oz/ 4.5 g: full size! Value: $29.00

Now, on to the first-impressions!

Juice Beauty Green Apple Age Defy Moisturizer: 2 fl oz/ 60 ml: full size! Value: $48.00

I was so excited to see this product in my box this month. I was even more excited that this product was full sized! I'm a Juice Beauty newbie, so I'm very excited to try this moisturizer. Here's what it says on the back of the box:

"Visibly brighten and smooth with this clinically proven age defy moisturizer that combines a brightening complex of certified organic botanical juices with a powerful anrioidant cocktail of alpha lipoid acid, CoQ10, Vitamin C, peptides, and DMAE for optimum age-defying results."

I love the sparkly white packaging. As you can see, the actual container is pretty full! I rubbed some of this into my forearm, and it has a very light consistency- perfect for the daytime for combo/oily girls like me. I'm very excited to try this moisturizer. I'll be swapping out my daytime moisturizer with this bad boy to give it a go. I'll make sure to post a review after a few weeks!

This little guy is so cute! I haven't tried the Dermalogica brand, but I've heard positive things about them. I was very excited to get this little eye cream! I suffer from under-eye puffiness (especially in the mornings) and am always looking for some tricks and tips to help me look normal, and not like I've been crying all night. Here's what Dermalogica claims this product will do:

"High-performance eye treatment energizes skin to reduce visible signs of stress. Active, cooling cream-gel masque minimizes the appearance of puffiness and dark circles, increases skin luminosity, lifts the eye area and helps restore skin barrier integrity."

The consistency, surprisingly, is very, very watery. I was surprised to read that it was a masque! I wasn't sure how to use this, but here are the directions straight from the Dermstore website. "Apply generously around cleansed eye area using cooling massage applicator. Leave on for 3-5 minutes. Massage any excess product into skin, or tissue off. Use as needed for a quick boost or daily to address signs of chronic eye fatigue."

Another bonus? The tube feels very full.

I'm intrigued to try this one out. I'll let you guys know what I think!

This tube isn't completely full, but it doesn't bother me. I'm always so-so about sample and deluxe-sized hair products. I have very, very thick hair. This entire sample could probably coat one section of my hair if my hair was divided into four sections. I may save this for the (rare) times when I flat-iron my hair (that way, less bulk and more product to use). Here are the product's claims:

"Alterna Caviar CC Cream 10-in-1 Complete Correction Leave-In Hair Perfector features a reparative formula that targets and corrects 10 major concerns common to most hair types. Marine caviar and other botanicals increase smoothness, shine, strength and manageability while preventing UV damage, breakage, dryness and frizz. Hair is left looking visibly softer with a lightweight hold."

The CC Cream has a very perfume-y scent, so if you're scent sensitive, you may not like this product. I'm not sure if a review will be coming or if I'll pass this on to someone else. I'll have to see!

Honest Beauty Magic Balm: 0.17 oz/ 5 g: full size! Value: $18.00

I'll be honest (no pun intended!). Whenever I hear of the Honest brand, I only think of those cute little diapers for babies that they make. I knew the they had a beauty branch, but I have never tried it...until now! Another confession? I have no idea what this product is supposed to do. After reading the claims, I suppose it can be a multi-tasking product for your face (highlighter), cuticles (moisturizer), and lip balm. It's a very thin consistency, and has an interesting, waxy scent. I won't use this for a highlighter, but I will use this for a cuticle moisturizer and a lip balm. Here is the claim from Dermstore:

"Highlight, smooth and soften skin with Honest Beauty's Magic Balm. This must-have product has endless uses, from highlighting your cheekbones or eye area, to giving cuticles that freshly manicured look. Formulated with a blend of organic fruit and botanical oils, Magic Balm also soothes and calms dry skin."

It's the perfect size to throw in my purse for any dry-skin emergencies!

*Shoutout to Dermstore's customer service! My magic balm came broken and they quickly apologized and ordered me a replacement!

Luzern Laboratories Urban Protect Detox Masque & Urban Protect Daily Moisturizer: 0.135 fl oz/ 4 ml & 0.34 fl oz/ 10 ml (couldn't find the link!)

Sorry guys. No link for this one! But I was pleased to find a face mask sample and another moisturizer sample in this month's box. I'm obsessed with face masks and if I had a choice, I would do one every single night. I can't wait to try this bad boy out! Here's what Luzern Laboratories promises about this mask:

"This silky mask helps skin recover from exposure to the aggressive urban environment. 15 minutes of this "me-time" mask leaves skin looking rested, refreshed, glowing!"

Sign me up! I'll use anything that gives me the skin of a VS model.

*This mask should be applied on clean, dry skin, and left for 15 minutes before rinsing*

Here are the promises for the moisturizer:

"Helps preserve beautiful skin by neutralizing pollution and Blue-light, while hydrating skin and promoting a more even-toned, luminous complexion."

This comes in a cute travel-size, so I'll make sure to take it with me on my next trip.

I'm not sure if it's the formulation of the product or the material of the tube, but this tube feels like it's all air and no product. I squeezed some out just to make sure I didn't get shipped a faulty tube.

The full-size of this baby (0.34 fl oz) costs a whooping $85! For that price, I better wake up to a brand new set of lips in the morning. Unfortunately, this product was a miss for me. Before I get into my review, let me tell you VENeffect's product claim:

"Restore plumpness to your pout with VENeffect Anti-Aging Lip Treatment. Its nutrient-rich formula features innovative phytoestrogen technology that works to counteract the visible signs of aging in women's skin. Resveratrol boosts firmness and elasticity, filling in fine lines while peptides diminish wrinkles. Antioxidant-rich grapeseed oil delivers nourishing hydration, smoothing and softening your skin for a set of lips that look younger than ever. It also works wonderfully as a lipstick primer, helping to prevent fading or feathering and extends the wear of your lip colour."

Of course, after reading that you'd expect to have lips as soft as a newborn bum, right? Wrong, at least for me. This product did not moisturize my lips nor did it boost any firmness (at least not that I could see). It dried out my lips, forcing me to layer lip balm on top. It has a couple of good reviews on Dermstore, but for $85, I expected a lot more. This, unfortunately, will have to go into my sample-graveyard.

100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Oil Anti-Aging Lipstick in Poppy: 0.15 oz/ 4.5 g: full size! Value: $29.00

I was pleasantly surprised to see a full-sized lipstick in this month's box! Especially an all-natural one. I've heard of the brand 100% Pure before, but I didn't know that they formulated makeup. I'm a lipstick lover, so this product was right up my alley!

I got the color Poppy (to all that received this box, did you the same or a different colour?), which is a gorgeous red colour. I've swatched below!

I was a little worried about the color being off for my skin tone, but when I swatched it and tried it on my lips, I didn't need a liner! It's a gorgeous red color that made my teeth look a little whiter. It was very moisturizing, but I cannot speak for the longevity of the product- I only wore it for a few minutes.

Here is the product claim:

"100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Pomegranate Oil Anti-Aging Lipstick gives your lips a red carpet-worthy pop of eye-catching color as it hydrates and nourishes for an oh-so-supple pout. Formulated without artificial dyes, chemical preservatives or additives, it features unique fruit-based pigments. Shea butter boosts firmness and elasticity while antioxidant-infused pomegranate oil protects lips from environmental damage."

'Anti-Aging' may be a stretch, but this is definitely a product that is going in my regular makeup drawer!

I've heard a lot of good thing about this brand, but sadly, I won't be using these. I don't struggle with smile lines, but I will make sure to pass this on to somebody who can get some use out of this! Here is the claim on the Dermstore website:

"skyn ICELAND Hydro Cool Firming Face Gels turns back the clock on aging skin to leave it looking firmer, brighter and smoother in just 10 minutes. Each transdermal pad is infused with advanced peptides to reduce fine lines and wrinkles. Icelandic glacial water soothes inflammation while extensin hydrates and softens. Ginseng and tomato stem cells prevent environmental damage and premature aging."

Looks like a promising product! If you guys have tried this, let me know how it works!

Final thoughts: I was pleased with my Beauty Fix box for April. I'm very excited to try out the Juice Beauty moisturizer, the 100% Pure lipstick, and the detox mask! Let me know your thoughts on any of the products I've discussed, or your own box. Until next month!

bottom of page