top of page

Differin- My 1 month update


Before I get started, I'm going to make a very big disclaimer:

I do not suffer from moderate or severe acne. I am not saying that as a bragging right, I am telling you that because I do not want to do a disservice or offend others that do suffer from moderate to severe acne by saying that I suffer from it as well. I did not begin taking Differin solely because I wanted to clear the blemishes that blemishes that I had- I began taking Differin to keep my skin clear, improve my skin texture (I have congestion + clogged pores), and try to prevent the hormonal cysts I get around my time of the month. My 1 month progress pictures will not be astounding. Some of you may wonder why I need to take this because my skin seems 'fine'. Some of you may not see a difference, and that's okay. I see a difference in my skin already, and my skin texture has never been smoother. I'll mention my thoughts a little later on in the post. At the very end will be my 30 day comparison.

Before I get into my thoughts, I thought I should explain what Differin is to the reader that has no idea what I'm talking about (all of the info was taken from the Differin website):

What is Differin Gel?"

"Differin Gel is the first and only over-the-counter (OTC) product to contain a full prescription-strength, acne-fighting retinoid — adapalene. It’s the first new OTC active ingredient to treat acne approved by the FDA in more than 30 years."

What are retinoids, and why are they important in clearing acne?

"Topical retinoids, like Differin Gel, play a crucial role in the treatment of acne. In 1925, studies linked abnormal cell turnover to vitamin A deficiencies. Retinoids have vitamin A activity and help regulate that turnover to make sure your skin goes through the right process, creating a healthier environment for skin. Regulating skin cell turnover to a normal rate helps to keep the pores from clogging and target acne before it even starts. Through the years, researchers developed different forms of retinoids, which have become the basis for many prescription acne medications."

Are all retinoids the same?

"No, not all retinoids are created equal. There are currently three retinoids in use for topical acne medications — adapalene (over the counter and prescription), tretinoin and tazarotene. Differin Gel uses adapalene, an ingredient designed with improved tolerability in mind, resulting in less redness and skin irritation. Adapalene has shown in studies to have superior tolerability compared to other prescription retinoid products not containing adapalene. Adapalene is also the first multi-benefit retinoid acne ingredient available over the counter, without a prescription. Benefits include:

  1. Continually renews skin cells to help prevent pores from clogging

  2. Acting as an anti-inflammatory agent to reduce redness and swelling at the source

  3. Restoring skin tone and texture by clearing acne"

What is the difference between retinoid and retinol?

"Retinol is a type of retinoid found in many cosmetic products. However, adapalene is much more powerful than retinol, and it’s the only FDA-approved retinoid available for OTC use to clear acne."

Are there any side effects?

"Differin Gel has superior tolerability compared to other retinoid acne formulations not containing adapalene. Common side effects include dryness, redness, irritation and burning/stinging. These symptoms usually peak at the 2- to 4-week mark before subsiding. Not everyone will experience these side effects, and in clinical studies, average scores were less than mild."

Now for my experience thus far:

I had originally heard about Differin on Instagram. I saw that it was included in nearly everybody's feed (and with great results too), so I decided to do a little more research on it. I found that that it was great for congestion, hormonal cysts, and refining the texture of skin. After reading Caroline Hiron's blog post about it, I was sold and immediately ordered a tube off of Amazon.

If you guys would like to know my routine while on Differin, leave me comment or check out my Instagram, where I have logged my Differin night routine a number of times. My routines are very simple on Differin night, as I want to give the gel a chance to really get working on my skin. I want to publicly thank Sari from @talesofskincare on Instagram for allowing me to absolutely hound her with questions regarding my skincare and Differin for the past few weeks! She's an angel. Please, please check out her page and see for yourself.

During the 30 days that I have been on Differin, I haven't experienced any peeling or redness. I have, though, been hit with the 'Differin purge'. The picture down below may look very mild, but it was still sucked.. The blemishes I had were a mixture of whiteheads and cysts. I had some on my cheeks as you can see, and as the week progressed more came to a head that aren't pictured here. I even had one under my eye! They were very frustrating, but a week of a very consistent skincare regime got rid of them and now I'm just dealing with the PIH left behind. I'm working to remedy that right now, but I am so happy with the results that my Differin has given me! My skin has never looked clearer, and my texture has never looked more refined. I still have mild congestion on my temples that I need to deal with, but I am certain that that it will go away with the continued Differin use.

PURGING:

The three spots that you see came to the surface very angrily, and the whitehead emerging took forever to come out. Left some PIH behind.

1 spot came up on my cheekbone, then two more on my cheek. I had a spot that also cropped up on the side of my nose, as well as under my eye.

30 DAY COMPARISON:

April 27, 2017

May 27, 2017

April 27, 2017

May 27, 2017

April 27, 2017

May 27, 2017

I still think I'm purging a bit around the temples, but I cannot wait to see what my results will be like in the next 30 days! (I'm using it for around 3 months). I'm already so, so happy with my skin and am very excited to see what the next few weeks will bring.

How are your results, Differin users? For those of you that are not using it yet, what do you think? I'd love to hear about it!

bottom of page