top of page

Review- Sunday Riley Ceramic Slip Clay Cleanser


Sunday Riley is my absolute favorite luxury skincare line. Her products are pricey, but they absolutely work and they've transformed my skin. If you are unsure of who Sunday Riley is, she is the CEO, formulator, and founder of her own skincare line. Here's a video of Sunday talking about her line. Keep in mind that this video was made 4 years ago, so some of the products mentioned in the video have been discontinued.

Now, let's start the review.

What is it?: Ceramic Slip is a clay-based facial cleanser.

How much does it cost?: $45.00

How much product comes in the bottle?: 4.25 fl oz/ 125 ml.

How long does the bottle last?: I've used this cleanser for a month consistently and I have about 3/4 of the bottle left. A little goes a long way. I only use about 2 pumps per wash.

What's in it?: Water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cocopolyglucoside Tartrate, Sodium Cocopolyglucoside Citrate, Montmorillonite (French Green) Clay, Moroccan (Rhassoul) Lava Clay, Ascorbyl Palmitate (Vitamin C Ester), Citrus Aurantium (Neroli) Oil, Piper Nigrum (Black Pepper) Fruit Oil, Botswellia Carterii (Frankincense) Oil, Jasmine Officinale Oil, Santalum Album (Sandalwood) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Caprylyl Glycol.

I don't know what most of that is. What are the beneficial ingredients?:

-French Green Clay: Helps to remove impurities and tighten the appearance of pores. -Morrocan Rhassoul Clay: Helps to deep clean and purify the skin. -Neroil: Provides soothing and balancing properties. -Vitamin C: Provides antioxidant properties, while helping to brighten the appearance of the skin.

What doesn't it have in it?:

- Parabens

- Sulfates

- Phthalates

How long does the product last?: 12 months.

Is the product cruelty-free?: Yes.

What does it smell like? One thing you should know about Sunday Riley products is that they have very, very interesting scents. A lot of people can't handle them, but they don't bother me. The scent of this cleanser is hard to pinpoint. It has a claylike/chalkly scent with some sort of organic/grassy notes. It's definitely a unique smell.

What is the consistency? Very light, slightly runny. When rubbed into the skin it isn't as smooth as you'd expect, but it does feel nice.

What is the product claim?: I've copied and pasted the product claim from the Sephora website, as well as Sunday speaking about the product in a video.

"This skin-balancing cleanser purifies the complexion while visibly tightening the appearance of pores for clear, healthy-looking skin. Deep-cleaning French green clay and Moroccan rhassoul clay remove pore-clogging, excess oil, and impurities, without stripping the skin. Neroli essential oil balances, calms, and soothes, while antioxidant-rich vitamin C ester helps to brighten the appearance of the skin. The result is skin and pores that look and feel visibly toned and purified for a clean, balanced complexion."

What skin types would you recommend this for?: As the bottle says, normal to oily skin. I wouldn't recommend this for dry to sensitive skin because the clay may be slightly drying/irritating.

How long until I start seeing results?: Since it's a cleanser, immediately. But as for the skin purifying and brightening, a few days to a few weeks. Everyone is different.

What are your thoughts about this product?: Unpopular opinion time! As much as I love Sunday Riley's products, I didn't quite love this. I gave it a month of consistent use, but I didn't see any significant changes in my skin. My skin was soft and clean and didn't feel dry after, yes, but many other cleansers could do that. It was more or less a basic cleanser for me and for the $45 price tag, I was expecting quite a bit more. I read a lot of reviews on this product and this product is a lot of people's holy grail. A ton of people saw results immediately and have had their skin transformed for this, but for me, that wasn't the case. I used this with my clarisonic, a muslin cloth, and my hands and it still made no difference. I wanted to love this so badly, too! I'm going to continue to use this on a semi-regular basis because I'm not wasting $45 worth of product.

Would you repurchase? Unfortunately, no.

Would you recommend this product to others?: Again, unfortunately no. At least not the full-sized product. I would strongly recommend trying a sample of this first to see if you like it before shelling out the $$$.

What are some similar products (that you've tried)?:

Tell me what you guys think about this product! Do you love it? Hate it? Did it help you or break out out? I'd love to know!

*These are my honest opinions. I was not paid to do this review, nor was I paid for this product. I purchased this with my own money.

bottom of page